Home » Praisejamz » CONGRATULATIONS: Gospel Singers CeCe Winans, Tamela Mann win Dove Awards

CONGRATULATIONS: Gospel Singers CeCe Winans, Tamela Mann win Dove Awards

CONGRATULATIONS: Gospel singers CeCe Winans, Tamela Mann win Dove awards.
The Gospel Music Association held its 48th annual Dove Awards show Tuesday in Nashville, Tennessee, where gospel singers CeCe Winans and Tamela Mann won big.

Grammy-winning Winans won gospel artist of the year and contemporary gospel/urban album of the year for her latest album, Let Them Fall In Love, which was produced by her talented son Alvin Love III and Tommy Sims.

The always graceful Winans won the first award of the evening and commended the other talented artists in her category: Kirk Franklin, Travis Greene, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and Tamela Mann.

“They have all blessed my soul. I’m honored to be in this category with them,” said the 53-year-old, who also gave major props to her son.

“He is the visionary behind my latest record, Let Them Fall in Love, and I think it’s my best work yet.  So thank you for telling me what to do. I had to submit to him as a mom and that was rough, but it turned out amazing,” she smiled.

Mann won the Dove for “Change Me,” which grabbed a trophy for traditional gospel recorded song of the year.

“The song ‘Change Me’ was written by Thomas Clay,” 51-year-old Mann said in a backstage interview about the stirring melody that topped Billboard’s Gospel Songs chart for 12 weeks. “I thought it was a wonderful song to bring to the world to talk about change…I thank God for this song and how it’s blessed me and the world.”

Held at David Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, the show was hosted by Kari Jobe and Cobbs Leonard. As always, the show acknowledged preeminent artists, songwriters and producers of the day in faith-based music of all styles  including rock, rap, country and gospel.The show will air Oct. 22 at 8pm CST on TBN.

For a complete list of winners, visit www.doveawards.com.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *